The laboratories and premises of FOODBIOMES are located across Greece at four different regions.

The Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics and the Department of Medicine of the Democritus University of Thrace are located in the seaside town of Alexandroupoli of the Region of the Eastern Macedonia and Thrace, while the Department of Agricultural Development 100 kilometres north in the town of Orestiada of the same Region. The Department of Chemistry of the University of Ioannina is found in the scenic town of Ioannina of the Region of Epirus. The Department of Food Science and Nutrition of the University of Aegean is located at the island of Limnos in the North Aegean Region and lastly the Department of Food Science and Technology of the Ionian University is based in the island of Kefalonia in the Region of Ionian Islands.
FOODBIOMES partners boast robust research and education teams ready to tackle the mysteries of the food and human microbiomes. Find out more about the research institutions below or follow the links to their official webpage.

Democritus University of Thrace

The Democritus University of Thrace (DUTH) was founded in July 1973 with Legislative Decree no. 87 of 27 July 1973 and started its operation in the academic year 1974-1975. It was named “Democritus” in honor of the ancient Greek philosopher Democritus, who came from the city of Abdera in Thrace. The administrative offices of DUTH are based in Komotini, which is the capital of the Administrative Region of Macedonia and Thrace. Today DUTH consists of eight schools and eighteen departments located in four cities of Thrace, Komotini, Xanthi, Alexandroupoli and Orestiada. The total student population is 15,000. With the quality of teaching and the level of its research, it has secured a place among the best Greek universities.


Ionian University
Today the Ionian University is a modern educational institution consisting of five faculties and ten departments, in four islands; Corfu, Kefalonia, Zakynthos and Lefkada. Like every other institution of higher education in Greece, the Ionian University has the mission to produce and diffuse knowledge and cultivate the arts. At the Ionian University in particular, the content of studies is marked by originality and width of scope, while the existing departments are among others involved in the following areas of applied sciences and arts:, a) Informatics b) Music Studies, c) Audio and Visual Arts, d) Digital Media and Communication, e) Environmental Technology, f) Food Science and Technology.


University of the Aegean


The University of the Aegean provides 18 Undergraduate Programs while more than 60 are the Postgraduate Studies directions. Its parts are located on six (6) islands. It has a presence in the five Prefectures of the Aegean and is the only Greek University with Departments in two Regions of the Country. Polynesianism and the introduction of modern objects are the dominant features from its foundation, in March 1984, until today. The University of the Aegean has developed successful past and active collaborations with research institutions, companies, but also with development, social, business organizations.


University of Ioannina

The University of Ioannina was founded in 1964 and in 1970 it became an independent Institute of Higher Education, that developed rapidly over the next years. Located at the boundaries of the city of Ioannina, the University consists of seven schools and fifteen departments, with a student population of 18,356. Most of the schools at the University have organised post graduate courses, in which the student population adds up to 1.431, plus an additional 1.997 students at a doctoral level. In the last years, the University of Ioannina has increased by approximately 2-fold due to the establishment of new departments and its prospects for development are especially promising.